Can't find What You Want? Try Google...

Can't find what you want? Try Google

Home Site Contents  

Site Contents for Secrets of International Trade

"To trade with any member state of The EEC it is a legal requirement that, that product conform with the European Directives."

Trading Blocs

Under the Treaty of Rome, which came into force at the beginning of 1959, Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Germany agreed to the gradual removal of all trade barriers among themselves on almost all goods produced within the region.

They agreed to the erection of a common tariff barrier on goods from outside and the removal of tariffs and import quotes among member countries.

The organization that was established was called the EEU European Economic Community or EEC or European Union or EU

Since the Treaty of Rome came into force, the member countries of the EEC have steadily pushed ahead with the unification of their economies and countries such as:


Site Contents for:
Export Trade Barriers

Page 1/11 Tariff Barriers and Non-tariff barriers

Page 2/11 - About Tariff Lists, Dutiable Value and Anti Dumping Duties

Page 3/11 Countervailing Duties, "...substantial additional charge on export is the consular fee required..." Customs Nomenclature

Page 4/11 Free Trade Zone, Bonded Warehouses GATT now known as WTO

Page 5/11 European Directive and CE marking requirement 






U.K., Ireland, Denmark, Spain as well as many other European countries became new member. Trade barriers have been reduced more rapidly than was originally intended and monetary co-operation with a common "Euro" currency by January 1999


After World War II.
The Comecon and elsewhere in the world  - countries have joined together in regional trading blocs.

The Comecon was the Eastern Bloc's reply to the formation of the Organization for European Economic Co-Operation in Western Europe.

The post-second World War II experience of Third World countries supports the conventional wisdom that the development of a new economic system is necessarily a long, drawn out process spanning several decades.

Efforts underway in Eastern and Central Europe to radically abridge and accelerate the process of establishing new economic and political systems within a single decade with new perspective of development as a process and new strategies for accelerating social transformation.

ASEAN Association of South East Asia Nations of more than a total population of 600 million people, established in 1965 (held annually, Ministerial Meeting) consisting of member countries:

Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, Vietnam, Indonesia, Laos, Cambodia, Thailand, Philippines and Myanmar.


<<This Page 6/11 Trading Blocks, common tariff barrier &  European Economic Community

Page 7/11 ASEM Members
APEC -Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation
AABF Africa-Asia Business Forum CHOGM

Page 8/11 Exchange control and 'import quotas' together with 'tariffs' are the main form of protectionism

Page 9/11 - France, once required Japanese video players be cleared through a tiny Customs office with horrendous delays.

Page 10/11 APEC Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation - This huge regional trade group from 21 nations accounts for more than half of the world's economic output and 42% of its population.

Page 11/11 The ASEAN Economic Community represents a huge market with a combined population of one 600 million people.






AFTA - ASEAN Free Trade Agreement or ASEAN Free Trade Area, by year 2003 called EVSL (Early Voluntary Sectoral Liberalization). ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA Council)
The ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA)

EAEC (East Asia Economic Caucus) or known as "Asean Plus Three" proposed by ASEAN to come into force by 2003 with members consisting of the 10 ASEAN members plus Japan, South Korea, and China.

ARF Asean Regional Forum, held annually at Foreign Minister level, annually in July, in conjunction with the ASEAN Post Ministerial Conference (PMC).

ARF a regional security body of East Asia - with members consisting of Australia, Canada, China, The European Union, India, Japan, South Korea, North Korea, Mongolia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Russia and U.S.A.

ARF ASEAN Regional Forum, draws together 23 countries which have an impact on, or are involved in, the security of the Asia Pacific region.

ARF, which held its first meeting in 1994, provides a setting in which members can discuss pressing regional security and political concerns and develop cooperative measures to enhance peace and security in the region. 

ASEAN TROIKA of past, present and next chairmen can be constituted on an ad hoc basis "if and when the situation warrants" to address urgent political and security issues of common concern.

The TROIKA concept adhere to ASEAN core principles. The TROIKA concept is new and it remains to be seen how it works.

Continue Next Page 7/11 About Trading Blocks: ASEM Members, APEC -Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation, AABF (established in 1999) Africa-Asia Business Forum, CHOGM (Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting) and COMESA Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa



2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11


Site Contents for:
Export Trade Barriers


Site Contents for:
Secrets of
International Trade


Can't find What You Want? Try Google...

Can't find what you want? Try Google